YOUR FAVORITE MASCOT, MG Contemporary

Name: Katherine Maria Frazer
Genre: Middle Grade/Contemporary
Title: YOUR FAVORITE MASCOT
Word Count: 26,000
Themes: #ownvoices

35-Word Pitch: Separated for the first time ever, Taylor and her two best friends stay connected by documenting their mascot adventures on a Google Doc letter, but the distance threatens their close relationship. Written in partial epistolary.

First 500 words:

Dear Chelsie and Taylor,

If football season insists on starting at the hottest time of the year, why can’t it do everybody a favor and be an indoor sport? 100 degree San Antonio weather + the extra 30 degrees the mascot suit adds + stupid Hank drinking chocolate milk at lunch (yeah, don’t even get me started) = Hank threw up inside the mascot suit during the first game of the season. Fantastic. I doubt we’ll ever get the smell of puke out of that dang armadillo suit. It’s bad enough wearing that stinky suit after it’s soaked in his gross boy sweat, but a girl has to draw the line somewhere. I have decided that I know my boundaries: vomit. Vomit is the line.

Come on Hank, when your stomach is in a 130 degree mascot suit, any milk inside that stomach is going to curdle and come back up the wrong way. He took the head off and immediately barfed a second time – right on my shoes. So that was lovely. And by lovely I mean the most disgusting thing ever. The August heat doesn’t have mercy for anyone, especially not clueless guys dressed like armadillos (or their co-mascots who are left with the mess).  I hope your first games go better than mine did.

So far Sanchez is a pretty good school I guess. My teachers aren’t scary, the kids are cool, and we get to choose where we sit at lunch. I was nervous about losing recess, but at Sanchez they let us go outside when we finish eating lunch if the weather is nice.

I convinced Tío Martin to let me use his laptop to talk to y’all when he is at work, which is basically all the time since he works nights. I had to promise him he’s my favorite uncle, which he sorta is, now that I can use his computer. I mean, this Google doc will be the only way for us to be able to keep in touch, unless Taylor and I magically get smartphones (a girl can dream). So I’ll use this computer, Taylor can use the library computers, and Chelsie you’ve got your mom’s laptop. I think using this letter thingy is going to work out. We’ll be pen pals without the buying-stamps-and-waiting-by-the-mailbox part.

Middle school is turning out to be better than expected, but I still miss you two. I wish y’all could come to Sanchez with me. Transfer? Please?

Your favorite mascot,

Ana (also known as Armando the Armadillo)

Dear Taylor and Ana,

Oh my gosh Ana, that’s so disgusting about Hank. I hope they wash it before you have to wear it again. Gross times a million. Good luck with that…

I made a list of everything we need to talk about for my letter.

Middle school:

It is exhausting so far. Seriously – by the time I finish homework and eat dinner all I want to do is sleep.

7 thoughts on “YOUR FAVORITE MASCOT, MG Contemporary

  1. Brent Taylor says:

    I would love to read this! Please send your query letter and the full manuscript as a Microsoft word doc to brent [at] triadaus [dot] com with “Pitch América” in the subject line.

    Like

  2. Whitley Abell (@whitleyabell) says:

    This is just the cutest. I’d love to read more. Please send your full manuscript as a word document attachment with “Pitch América” in the subject line to whitley [at] inklingsliterary [dot] com. And if you don’t mind, could you also include your query letter on the first page of the word doc?

    Like

  3. Rachel Stark says:

    Love the funny story to start, and the great sense of voice I get already! Could you please send your query and full manuscript, as a Word doc, to rstark[at]skyhorsepublishing[dot]com? Please include “Pitch América” in the subject line. You do not need an agent to query me.

    Like

  4. Pete Knapp says:

    This sounds great! I’d love to keep reading. Please send the query and full manuscript to queries (at) parkliterary (dot) com. Please include Pitch America in the subject. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

