Interview with Zoraida Cordova

It’s Pitch América time, which means interview mondays are back!!!! How excited am I to be posting this again?

This week we’re interviewing Zoraida Cordova, the amazing author of LABYRINTH LOST. Labyrinth Lost was one of my favorite fantasy books last year, and the sequel CIRCLE UNBROKEN is just coming up.

27969081

The only way to get her family back is to travel to a land in between, as dark as Limbo and as strange as Wonderland…

Alex is a bruja, the most powerful witch in a generation…and she hates magic.

At her Deathday celebration, Alex performs a spell to rid herself of her power. But it backfires. Her whole family vanishes into thin air, leaving her alone with Nova, a brujo boy she’s not sure she can trust, but who may be Alex’s only chance at saving her family.

Order the book: Amazon | Indiebound | Book Depository | Barnes & Noble

And now, to the interview!

1) What is your favorite part about being a writer?

Meeting readers and writers online and in person. 

2) How has your cultural background influenced your writing? Do you write many Latinx characters?

I’ve always tried to include Latinx characters in my books. Labyrinth Lost is noticeably my books where 90% of the characters are Latinx. 

3) As someone who comes from a diverse background, did you have any experience in publishing that put that in a negative light?

My very first submission did get some unfortunate responses. The one that sticks in my head was “We already have a Latino book for the season.” I’m still a little bitter about it, even though I’m incredibly lucky to have had seven books published despite that. What bothers me is that there are still people who think that way. Thankfully, you won’t catch people making blanketed statements like that as easily as before without being dragged on the internet. 

4) How important do you think diversity is in publishing, especially regarding Latinx representation?

Publishing should reflect the real world. Not a portion of it. 

5) As a young writer, what books influenced you? Did any come from your own background?

I read and watched all things paranormal and fantasy. All of it was very cis and white. 

6) Where do you get inspiration for your books?

I still never know what to say to this because it’s always different. Sometimes it was a name that bore a character. Sometimes it’s daydreaming up an entire world. Sometimes it’s in the middle of the night when I wake up and can’t let go of an idea. 

7) Any good advice for Latinx and POC writers out there?

I don’t know if I have *good* advice. But here goes: Storm the gates. 

  • Hogwarts house? Gryffindor
  • Favorite food? Tacos
  • Favorite movie? Casper (with Christina Ricci)
  • Favorite TV series? Buffy
  • Favorite soap opera? Jane the Virgin
  • Favorite place in the world? The beach. Puerto Rico. 
  • Favorite superhero? Captain America

Thanks so much for this interview, Zoraida!

zoraida_vlc_photo2

I write YA Urban Fantasy about things that go bump in the night. I also write about 20-something-year-old-girls searching for love and the meaning of life. I often wish my life were a cross between Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Sex and the City. I’m a contributing writer to Latinos in Kid Lit, Bustle, and B&N Teen Blog. I’ve always loved stories about magic and impossible worlds. Other things I love: Moon Prism Power. Five by five. Orlando Bloom’s Face. Daughter of Poseidon. I love you/I know.

Leave a Reply

